Won’t You Be My Neighbor? [June 2008]

Won’t You Be My Neighbor? [June 2008]

“What would it take, I wondered, to penetrate the barriers between us? I thought about childhood sleepovers and the insight I used to get from waking up inside a friend’s home. Would my neighbors let me sleep over and write about their lives from inside their own houses?”

This is the first of many articles I’m posting from my facebook archives. I’m really looking forward to re-reading these and sharing them with you. This particular essay is even more relevant today, as we disappear into our smart phones and disconnect even from the people standing right next to us, let alone our neighbors.

Leave a Reply

