What If We Admitted to Children That Sex Is Primarily About Pleasure?

What If We Admitted to Children That Sex Is Primarily About Pleasure?

One mother makes up for the gaps in sex education.

I searched in vain for a better quote to share with you from this piece, but I can’t, because the whole thing is a gem.

Okay, fine, here’s something:

This was the kid who in preschool answered a teacher’s “Good morning, how are you today?” with “I’m fine, but my mother is menstruating, so her uterine lining is sloughing.” I just shrugged and explained to her that he’d seen blood on the toilet paper and wanted to know if I was OK.

So I had explained that it was normal, and he wanted to hear about the mechanics, like he always did about everything.

Now just read it. And then be honest with your children, because if you’re not, they’re going to get the wrong information from somewhere.

2 thoughts on “What If We Admitted to Children That Sex Is Primarily About Pleasure?

  1. Pingback: Teaching Good Sex [Nov 2011] | What I'm Reading

  2. Pingback: This Is What Sex-Positive Parenting Really Looks Like | What I'm Reading

Leave a Reply

