This Is What Sex-Positive Parenting Really Looks Like

This Is What Sex-Positive Parenting Really Looks Like

“I’m what some people call ‘sex-positive.’ That doesn’t mean I talk with my 4-year-olds about how great sex is and how good it feels. It means I don’t pretend it’s something other than it is.

As parents, we lie all the time. About the Easter Bunny or Santa or the Tooth Fairy, about how long 10 minutes is, about whether or not we remembered they wanted to have grilled cheese for dinner again… We lie a lot. But one thing I never lie about is sex.

I don’t want them to grow up ashamed of their bodies or confused about what they do. I don’t tell them about cabbage patches or storks; I make an effort, always, to be honest about human reproduction. Every aspect of it.”

Another fantastic essay about being honest with your children about sex. (If you missed it, be sure to also check out “What If We Admitted to Children That Sex Is Primarily About Pleasure?”) I hope one day we can live in a world where shame about our bodies isn’t a dominant aspect of our culture, and ladies like this are leading the way.

Leave a Reply

